Cheryl Hultquist Horvath

Cheryl Hultquist

Executive Director

A native Houstonian, Cheryl began her involvement with the HTA as a volunteer Site Director in 1978 when her two sons began playing junior tennis tournaments. She participated in the HTA Tuesday night ladies leagues and played in the HTA mixed leagues with her sons. She also has participated in Senior Sectionals at the 4.5 level. In 1986 Cheryl was elected as the Assistant Executive Director of the HTA, and in July 2007 was elected Executive Director. Cheryl is certified as a tournament director, USTA umpire and referee, and serves on the USTA Texas League Committee and the Community Development Committee.
(281) 580-8313 x1001

Ann Wilde

Ann Wilde

Junior Tennis Coordinator and Adult League Coordinator

Ann has been an HTA league player since 2007. She has advanced to sectionals as well as earning finalist and champion titles for the HTA Fall Festival and HTA Open Tournaments. In addition, Ann has served as a volunteer for West Houston Ladies Tennis Association for several years, with three years serving on the board and as President. She has also served as the Houston Ladies Tennis Association President at her club.
(281) 580-8313 x1003


Zena Williams

Communications Assistant

Zena is a Duquesne University (Pittsburgh, PA) graduate and an integrated marketing and communications (IMC) professional. Her tennis history began in Houston, Texas and she eventually went on to be a top ranked player in the USTA junior tennis leagues. Furthermore, she played Division 1 tennis within the Atlantic 10 (A10) Conference for Duquesne University’s tennis team. After University she moved to Bahrain where she worked for the media and is currently serving as the Communications Associate for the Houston Tennis Association (HTA). Having lived in 4 and traveled to over 20 countries she still considers Houston her first and number one home.
(281) 580-8313 x 1005

Melinda Hampton

Melinda Hampton

Assistant League Coordinator

A long-time member of the Houston tennis community, Melinda joined the Houston Tennis Association staff in September of 2014. She has played league tennis for many years, captained teams for the Houston Ladies Tennis Association and the West Houston Ladies Tennis Association, and served on the executive board of WHTLA as League Coordinator and President. She continues to volunteer as a team captain and Level Coordinator for WHLTA.
(281) 580-8313 x 1004

Daryl Hall

Daryl Hall


Daryl is the Houston Tennis Association's Accountant. She has been employed by the HTA since 2007 and has worked not only in the accounting department but also as a Singles League Coordinator. She's volunteered for the HTA for over 20 years as a Level Coordinator, Treasurer, Tournament Site Director, and as a league team captain. Daryl continues to participate in multiple USTA/HTA leagues and tournaments, and represented Texas in the finals of a USTA age-group league in 2014, playing for the national title.
(281) 580-8313 x1002

Harriett Hulbert

Harriett Hulbert

Tournament Coordinator

An icon of the Houston Tennis Association, Harriett has been volunteering with or working for the organization since 1975. She served as HTA President from 1980 through 1981, Assistant Executive Director from 1983 through 1985, and Executive Director from 1985 through 2007. Her involvement with the USTA Texas Section is only two years shorter, beginning in 1977. She has served the Section as Secretary, as multiple-time committee chair and committee member, and is a USTA National Referee. Harriet is a recipient of the USTA Texas Section Caswell Award, and in 2009 she was inducted into the Texas Tennis Hall of Fame.

2017 Officers & Executive Committee

Ted Erck


Mickey Sharma

Vice President

Peter Farrell

Vice President

Gary Lemp


Claire Goosey


Douglas Pritchett

Executive Committee

Jeff Lin

Exceutive Commitee

Emily Schaefer

Exceutive Commitee

Steve Ash

Exceutive Commitee

Board of Directors

Term 2016-2018 Term 2016-2017 Term 2016-2018
Marianne Bianchi John Bramblett Steve Ash
Raouf Hadad Frank Del Nogal Tina Beddow
Victoria Jaeger Parker Dopson Tim Calhoun
Lara Lehmann Srimonto Ghosh Jeni Dao
Tu Tran Bronwyn Greer Michael Fertitta
Andrea Villasana Zina Jackson Alex Montes
Patricia Gardner Young Preston Pinto Twyla Scott
Mariaan de Swardt—Pro Advisor

Advisory Board

Cherie Bauch Jean Jablonski Shirley Mendoza
Cindy Benzon Kendall Jaeger Randy Ortwein
Lois Canady Raleigh Jenkins Doug Pritchett
T.C. Chang Charles LeMaster Roy Royston
Paul Christian Jo Lightsey Emily Schaefer
Nolan Craven Jeff Lin Jan Sweezy
Judge Ed Emmett Louis Lu Terry St. John
Mike Goldberg Willam Mao Peter Talosig
Harold Graham Jim Mavity Bev Taylor
Steven Herzog Kathryn McNiel Nancy Vivero

Past Presidents

2014-2015 1987 1970
Jeff Lin Gary Lemp James Bayless
2012-2013 1986 1969
Emily Schaefer Kay Burford Towson Ellis
2010-2011 1985 1968
Randy Ortwein Don Avera Walter B. “Bud” Rae
2009 1984 1966-1967
Harold Graham Ginny James William Black, Jr.
2006-2008 1983 1965
William Mao Bill Owen Robert Kamrath
2003-2005 1982 1964
T.C. Chang Judy Fletcher Robert “Rennie” Baker
2001-2002 1980-1981 1963
Nancy Vivero Harriett Hulbert Jack Blanton
1999-2000 1979 1962
Roy Royston Bob Marco Tom McCleary
1998 1978 1961
Rod Hotz Leona Schroeder Robert Kurtz
1996-1997 1977 1960
Jean Jablonski Lee Hamilton Karl Kamrath
1994-1995 1976 1958-1959
Jeanine Baker Jo Ann Padgett George P. Mitchell
1992-1993 1975 1957
Jim Mavity Roscoe Clark Wilbur Hess
1991 1974 1956
Chuck Sanchelli Paul Pearce J.J. Sampson
1990 1973 1955
Bob Melton Chuck LeMaster Alfred Knapp
1989 1972 1954
Bev Taylor Richard Schuette Louis Fisher
1988 1971 1953
Chuck Sanchelli Tom Gillis James Walsh

In Memoriam

Honoring Those Who Came Before Us

Edgar Arnold Walter “Tim” Heckler Jerry Padilla
Robert “Rennie” Baker Gladys Heldman Joe Padilla
Franklin Barnett Julius Heldman Mike Ricca
James Bayless Michael Horvath Jack J. Sampson
Lovie Beard Jodi Jablonski Leona Schroeder
William Berryman Lee Johns Richard Earl Schuette
Jack Sawtelle Blanton Scott Kaiser Lou Cille Scoggins
Norma Boyle Karl Kamrath, Sr. Velma Snyder
Kay Burford Robert Kamrath Mike Spoor
Leslie Creekmore Alfred Knapp Howard Startzman
Thomas “Tom” D. Creekmore Lee LeClear Peggy Startzman
June Dickey Bob Marco Hugh Sweeney
Louis Towson Ellis Tom McCleary J Taylor
Louis Fisher George P. Mitchell James Walsh
Lee Hamilton Oluremi “Remi” Ola Osho Patricia Joan Waters
Martha Harvey Dr. William Owen Steve Wolford
William Robert Haynes