October 2021 Newsletter

Alex and son Logan

My name is Alex Graham. I am a tennis pro as well as the activities coordinator here at the Houston Racquet Club. I help with making sure we have enough court space to be able to start a new team as well as reserving the courts for each team. My hope is that every woman at the club that wants to play on a team gets on one or is at least subbing for as many as they like. We have four teams in HLTA, five teams in WHLTA, two teams in ATL, ten teams in Memorial League, one 4.0 USTA daytime team, two 4.5 USTA nighttime teams, as well as a new intraclub league with 40 women participating in that this season.

We love having the HTA league here at the HRC. It brings camaraderie and a sense of belonging to the women who have been on a team for many years and the new members as well. The captains do a great job of making sure everyone is getting to participate in play and always looking for new members to include. The captains also do a great job of coordinating rain make up courts around all our play out here at the club.

I grew up on the southeast side of Houston in Deer Park. I started to play tennis as a hobby in junior high at the Strawberry Park (Now the Harry Taylor Tennis Center), and Harry Taylor was my first coach. I became serious about the sport my junior year in high school and had Will Rau as my coach at Deer Park High School. I went on to play four years at the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor and graduated in 2011 with James Cohagen as my college coach.  While I was in college, I taught at the John Newcombe Tennis Ranch and Texas A&M summer camps. Shortly after graduating college, I coached for Bob Carbo and 323 Tennis Academy that he had built for his seven kids and the surrounding homeschool kids.