HTA Latest News

See what's happening in Greater Houston tennis.

Jaycer Lyeons of Houston and Rachel Janssen of Farmers Branch have been named the No. 1 seeds in the men’s and women’s open divisions of the 2017 RBC Wealth Management Houston Open, which begins Friday, April 14, at several sites around the city. Lee LeClear Tennis Center, 9506 S. Gessner, is headquarters.

Janssen won the event in 2014 and was a finalist the year before.

Seeded second in the men’s open is Kevin Zhu of Pearland. In the women’s open Carla Cooper of Arlington is No. 2.

Open men’s and women’s singles finals are on Sunday, April 16, with the women scheduled at 9:30 a.m. and the men at 12:45 p.m. A total of 575 players have entered the adult, senior and super senior divisions.

Max Motlagh of Richardson and Zhu are the top seeds in the men’s open doubles event, and Janssen and Meaghan Ocanas of Rowlett, 2016 finalists, are No. 1 in women’s open doubles. Sonya Bhakthavachalam and Gandhi Bhakthavachalam of Spring are the No. 1 seeds in the mixed open doubles.

Seeds in all divisions can be accessed at TennisLink (#800034517).

The tournament is presented by the Houston Tennis Association and the Houston Parks & Recreation Department. It is sanctioned by the United States Tennis Association and is a Texas major zone tournament for adults.

In addition to Lee LeClear, sites used for the tournament include Homer Ford and Memorial Park tennis centers, Lost Forest Tennis Club, Clements High School and the Houston Racquet Club.

Tournament viewing is free. For more information call the HTA at 281-580-8313.