HTA Latest News

See what's happening in Greater Houston tennis.

Top seeds have been named for the HTA NJTL Zone Advancement Tournament, which will be held September 3-4 at five Houston tennis sites.

Lee LeClear Tennis Center, 9506 S. Gessner, is headquarters. Other sites are Memorial and Homer Ford tennis centers, Lost Forest Racquet Club and Clements High School.

The tournament benefits the HTA NJTL free Houston youth tennis program.

Draws are limited to 32 players, resulting in multiple seeds in some age divisions. The 12-18 age division entrants total 341, and the 10s division totals 90.

Top seeds in the boys age divisions are: 18s—Jonathan Yap of Katy; 16s—Adric Christensen of Friendswood and Jett Wright of Austin; 14s—Derek Young of Montgomery and Joshua Rassin of Houston; and 12s—Brady Enstrom of Tomball, Kieran Coffey of Houston and Jack Campbell of The Woodlands.

Top seeds in the girls age divisions are: 18s–Cassidy Chen of Corpus Christi; 16s—Emma Bayless of Humble and Kaitlyn Gans of Beaumont; 14s—Alden Allen of Conroe and Jada Hill of Missouri City; and 12s—Anshu Laksman of Katy and Isa Barajas of Cedar Park.

The youngsters earn points to qualify for championship status.

The tournament identification number for the 12-18s is 809660316 on TennisLink, and 800039316 for the 10s.