HTA Latest News

See what's happening in Greater Houston tennis.

Congratulations to HTA’s most recent award winners—Ed Williams, Bev Taylor, Emily Schaefer, Randy Ortwein, Dave Noble and Ann Eaton.

Williams, HTA president, was named the Volunteer of the Year at the USTA Texas Section Community Development Workshop in October 2015. This award is presented to a volunteer who has demonstrated outstanding service and dedication to all aspects of the game of tennis during the year in which the award is given and/or over a period of years.

The Tennis Advocate of the Year Award was presented to Taylor, chair of HTA’s NJTL program, at the same meeting for her role in inspiring others to grow grassroots tennis in their community.

Schaefer, an HTA past president and executive board member, received the W.T. Caswell Award at the USTA Texas annual meeting in February 2016 for her valuable contributions to the growth and development of tennis in Texas.

Noble and Eaton were honored with Senior Spirit of Tennis awards (for one male and one female) for their high sectional rankings and for exemplifying the qualities of sportsmanship, enthusiasm, conditioning, resourcefulness and a cooperative spirit.

Tennis Industry Magazine named Ortwein, HTA advisory board member and past president, its Wheelchair Tennis Champion of the Year for 2016.