HTA Latest News

See what's happening in Greater Houston tennis.

image Mikhail Vaks of Katy and Rachel Janssen of Farmers Branch have been named the No. 1 seeds in the men's and women's open divisions of the 2016 Houston Tennis Association Houston Open, which begins Friday, March 25, at several sites around the city. Lee LeClear Tennis Center, 9506 S. Gessner, is headquarters.

Janssen won the event in 2014 and was a finalist the year before.

Seeded second in the men's open is Adrian Valdez of San Antonio, who won in 2006 and was a finalist in 2011. Ryan Anthony Ybarra of Palestine is No. 3, and Gandhi Bhakthavachalam of Spring, the 2013 men's open winner, is No. 4.

In the women's open Kirstie Hearn of Dallas is No. 2; Lauren Jay of Kingwood is No. 3; and Maya Smith of Houston is No. 4.

The women's finals are on Sunday, March 27, at 9:30 a.m., and the men's on Monday, March 28, at 9 a.m. A total of 578 players have entered the adult, senior, and super senior divisions.

Katy's Marko Stanic and Tim Kuo are the top seeds in the men's open doubles event, and Janssen and Meaghan Ocanas of Rowlett are No. 1 in women's open doubles. Janssen teams with Ferny Avila of San Antonio for the No. 1 spot in mixed open doubles.

The tournament is sponsored by the Houston Tennis Association and the Houston Parks & Recreation Department. It is sanctioned by the United States Tennis Association and is a Texas Major Zone tournament for adults.

In addition to Lee LeClear, sites used for the tournament include Homer Ford and Memorial Park Tennis Centers, Lost Forest Tennis Center, Clements High School and the Houston Racquet Club.

Tournament viewing is free. For more information call the HTA at (281) 580-8313.